Town of River Bend Planning Board

Minutes for Regular Meeting – 3 August 2023 – River Bend Municipal Building

Board Members present:	Chairman Egon Lippert, Vice Chair Bob Kohn, Keith Boulware, Linda Cummings, Kathleen Fleming, Kelly Forrest
Board Members absent:	None
Others present:	Councilman Buddy Sheffield, Councilwoman Barbara Maurer, Town Manager Delane Jackson, Assistant Zoning Administrator Allison McCollum, 9 members of the public

1. Call to Order

The regularly scheduled Planning Board meeting was called to Order at 6:00 PM on Thursday, 3 August 2023, in the River Bend Municipal Building meeting room with a quorum present.

2. Approval of 1 June 2023 Regular Meeting Minutes

The Board reviewed the Minutes of the 1 June 2023 Regular Meeting. **Motion** was made by Board Member Keith Boulware to accept the Minutes as presented. Motion was **seconded** by Vice Chair Bob Kohn. **Motion carried unanimously.**

3. Reports

a. Zoning Report

AZA Allison McCollum presented the Board with a typed report summarizing the number of permits issued, the type of permit issued, and the total of all permit fees for the months of June and July 2023. The members of the Board reviewed the report and asked questions as needed.

b. Council Report

Councilman Buddy Sheffield summarized recent actions by the Town Council. The Council had a member resign, so have begun the process of filling the unoccupied seat. The Council will be revisiting the Conditional Zoning topic at an upcoming meeting. The Board asked questions as needed.

4. Public Comment

Ms. Noreen Fitzgerald spoke. She is of the opinion that Planning Board members should not be realtors, developers, or involved in the construction field. She believes it is a conflict of interest. She also stated that she is opposed to rezoning.

5. Old Business

a. Approval of Consistency Statement for previously recommended rezoning request by Jay Ammon (Parcel #8-206-083)

Motion was made by Chairman Egon Lippert to approve the Consistency Statement for the previously recommended rezoning request by Jay Ammon at the April 2023 meeting. Motion was **seconded** by Vice Chair Bob Kohn. **Motion carried unanimously.** The consistency statement was signed by Chairman Egon Lippert and witnessed by Secretary Allison McCollum.

6. New Business

a. Election of Board Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary.

Councilman Buddy Sheffield took over the proceedings so that the Planning Board could elect a Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary as required by ordinance. He asked for a volunteer or a nomination from the Board Members for Chair. Board Member Bob Kohn **motioned** to name Egon Lippert as Chairman. Board Member Linda Cummings **seconded** the motion. **Motion carried unanimously.** Chairman Egon Lippert accepted the position.

Councilman Sheffield asked for a volunteer or a nomination from the Board Members for Vice Chair. Board Member Keith Boulware **motioned** to name Bob Kohn as Vice Chair. Board Member Kelly Forrest **seconded** the motion. **Motion carried unanimously.** Vice Chair Bob Kohn accepted the position.

Councilman Sheffield asked for a volunteer or a nomination from the Board Members for Secretary. Board Member Keith Boulware **motioned** to name AZA Allison McCollum as Secretary. Vice Chair Bob Kohn **seconded** the motion. **Motion carried unanimously.** AZA Allison McCollum accepted the position.

b. Rezoning Request by Robert Davis & Kimberly Dow (Parcel #8-206-083)

Town Manager Delane Jackson presented the rezoning request and supplemental information provided by the applicants, Mr. Robert Davis and Ms. Kimberly Dow. The Board asked questions as needed, which were answered by both Town Manager Jackson and Mr. Robert Davis. **Motion** was made by Board Member Keith Boulware to adopt the Public Comment Policy as presented. Motion was **seconded** by Vice Chair Bob Kohn. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Motion was made by Vice Chair Bob to approve the Consistency Statement for the just approved rezoning request. Motion was **seconded** by Board Member Keith Boulware. **Motion carried unanimously.** The consistency statement was signed by Chairman Egon Lippert and witnessed by Secretary Allison McCollum.

c. Applicant interviews; selection to fill vacant Planning Board seat

After a brief, two-minute recess, Chairman Egon Lippert explained the process for filling the vacant seat and asked each of the candidates present to briefly introduce themselves and explain why they want the position. Ms. Lisa Benton, Ms. Carolyn Gadwell, Mr. John Hall and Ms. Carina Wordham each spoke in turn – summarizing information that they listed on their application for the Board. The Board asked questions as needed. Chairman Egon Lippert asked all Planning Board members to write their candidate of choice on the provide papers and sign their name. Ms. Lisa Benton received two votes, Ms. Carolyn Gadwell received three votes, Mr. John Hall received no votes, and Ms. Carina Wordham received one vote. Ms. Carolyn Gadwell was selected by majority vote to fill the vacancy and will be recommended to the Town Council.

7. Other

The next regular meeting is scheduled for Thursday, September 7th, 2023 at 6pm.

8. Adjournment

Motion was made by Board Member Keith Boulware to adjourn the meeting. Motion was **seconded** by Board Member Kelly Forrest. **Motion carried unanimously** and the meeting adjourned at 7:03 PM.

Allison McCollum, Secretary